the history of pickwell manor
Pickwell Manor dates back to the 10th Century and is mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086, by which date it had already been in existence for almost a hundred years.
It is steeped in history and legend, from the first Saxon resident Edmar to the Norman Knights (who were not above seizing the odd shipwreck or two in the nearby bay). We also know something about the residents during the reigns of Edward VI and Bloody Mary in the 16th century, and up to the present day.
An effigy of a medieval knight in Georgeham parish church is reputed to be that of Mauger St Aubyn, who held the manor in the 13th century.
Legend has it that after the death of Thomas Beckett in 1170, three of the murderers fled to Pickwell. They were captured here and beheaded in front of the house. Whenever there is a full moon on December 29th (the anniversary of Beckett’s death) it’s reputed that the three knights can be seen riding from Pickwell to the beach – without their heads!
The current house was rebuilt in 1906 in a Jacobean style, after a fire destroyed nearly all of the previous building. It is grade II listed to preserve its stunning architectural and historical treasures.